Village Board

What Does the Village Board Do?

The Village Board is elected by the community each April to advocate for residents, set policy, and uphold the covenants. The Board hires and supervises the Village Manager, approves the budget, and provides representation and is a liaison to the county, Columbia Association, and other community groups. The Village Board usually meets on the second and fourth Mondays of each month. The meetings on the second Monday of the month are in-person at The Hawthorn Center, the meetings on the fourth Monday are virtual. The meetings begin at 7:30 pm and the meeting invitation is available on the Meeting, Minutes and Agenda page.

After the deadline for candidate applications on Monday, March 11, 2024, there were five candidates for five Village Board seats and one candidate for one CA Board of Directors seat. The election is uncontested.

As stated in the Hickory Ridge Bylaws, Article II, Section 2.03, “Notwithstanding anything to the contrary set forth herein, if, after the deadline date for candidate’s statements has closed, the number of candidates meeting the requirements set forth in Section 2.03 is less than or equal to the number of vacant director positions, the qualified nominees shall be deemed to have been elected by the members and the Board of Directors shall appoint such nominees to the available director positions for the term provided for in Article 8 of the Association’s Articles of Incorporation.”

Because the election is uncontested, the candidates will be appointed to the vacant Village Board seats and the vacant CA Board seat for the 2025 fiscal year, which runs May 1, 2024, through April 30, 2025.

The appointees are as follows:

Columbia Association Board of Directors

Skye Anderson

Hickory Ridge Village Board

Kristine Amari

Jared Ball

Michael Campbell

Stephen Hannan

Samantha Link

Please Note: All written communication submitted to the Hickory Ridge Community Association, including the Hickory Ridge Village Board, is subject to disclosure pursuant to public information requests under The Maryland Homeowners Association Act.

All Board members are required to sign the Conflict of Interest policy. An updated prohibited entity list is below.


View the Annual Report on Village activities.

Email all of the Board members at

  • Skye Anderson

    Columbia Council Representative
  • Kristine Amari

    Board Member
  • Jared Ball

    Board Member
  • Michael Campbell

    Board Member
  • Steve Hannan

    Board Member
  • Samantha Link

    Board Member